Bellerophon: Son of Poseidon

Bellerophon cover small four inches

A single mistake can change a life forever.

Lero once had everything a man could want. The son of Poseidon, he was a gift from the gods to the queen of Corinth. But in one moment of foolish pride he lost everything—his family, his home, and the city he’d grown up expecting to rule.

Banished, Lero flees to Ethra, his betrothed, but the plans they’d made for a life together lay in ruins. With the coffers of Corinth no longer at his disposal, Lero now needs enough wealth to provide a home—and to hire warriors to defend it. His only option is to use his skills in the bloody art of war, selling his sword for the hope of a future.

King Proteus of Tiryns offers Lero that chance, but it doesn’t come free. Proteus maintains power with fear, and the intrigue in his court soon has Lero firmly in his grasp. Lero spends his days killing men he doesn’t hate for a king he can’t respect. And if he doesn’t find a way to escape soon, it’s likely the next life Proteus claims will be Lero’s own.

But trying to fight his way free may cost Lero everything he’s been fighting for…

***

Reviews on goodreads here: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/44303693-bellerophon?ac=1&from_search=true

***

Look Insides from Amazon available here:

Amazon US: https://www.amazon.com/Bellerophon-Son-Poseidon-Cathleen-Townsend-ebook/dp/B07PGN9J8K/

Amazon Canada: https://www.amazon.ca/Bellerophon-Son-Poseidon-Cathleen-Townsend-ebook/dp/B07PGN9J8K/

Amazon UK: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Bellerophon-Son-Poseidon-Cathleen-Townsend-ebook/dp/B07PGN9J8K/

Amazon Australia: https://www.amazon.com.au/Bellerophon-Son-Poseidon-Cathleen-Townsend-ebook/dp/B07PGN9J8K/

***

Bellerophon is also available at:

Barnes and Noble: https://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1130857963?ean=2940156475711

Kobo: https://www.kobo.com/us/en/ebook/bellerophon-son-of-poseidon

Apple: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/id1455742076

Google Play: https://play.google.com/store/books/details/Cathleen_Townsend_Bellerophon_Son_of_Poseidon?id=hrsYEAAAQBAJ

***

Happy reading!

Avid writer and reader of Faerie tales and noblebright fantasy.

Tagged with: , , , , ,
Posted in My Books
24 comments on “Bellerophon: Son of Poseidon
  1. Awesome, Cathleen! ❤ Sharing…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Well this sounds wonderful. I’m grabbing a copy. You already have some great reviews.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Yeah, getting those reviews is the real trick, isn’t it? I’m signed up (and finished my reading of my four books each) for a couple of goodreads Reading Rounds, but those just kind of trickle in. But they tend to be nice to read when they come, so that helps me be patient. 🙂

      Like

  3. balroop2013 says:

    Congratulations Cathleen, wishing you great success with your first novel. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Jina Bazzar says:

    Congratulations! That blurb sounds wonderful – and that first line is a catcher

    Liked by 1 person

  5. JM Williams says:

    Awesome! Congrats on getting the novel done. Just grabbed my copy. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Ann Coleman says:

    Congratulations! It sounds like a very interesting book…that blurb is great!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Congrats, Cathleen, how exciting for you! I’m off to get a copy!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. How exciting for you, Cathleen. This sounds like such an exciting story. Best wishes and all success wished to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. […] buying copies of the books from authors I follow. The most recent have been Esther Chilton and Cathleen Townsend, I’ve bought several more since having this epiphany. I don’t know if I will get around […]

    Liked by 1 person

  10. So you like Ancient Greece and its myths, huh?
    I wouldn’t guess that this was your tale (based on your more recent stories).
    How do you think you’ve changed as a writer since this publishing?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t think I’ve changed that much, actually, although I hope I’ve gradually gotten better. What has changed is my understanding of markets.

      I love Greek myths (most myths, in fact). I wrote a short one that you read: https://cathleentownsend.com/2021/06/30/battle-for-olympus/.

      However, I write a solid PG to PG-13 level for violence (less than that for sex). This works well for my audience which is over 95% female. But it turns out that ancient Greek and Roman stuff is mostly read by men, and they want R levels of sex and violence. Since I like folklore generally and fairy tale based fantasy has a larger female audience, it’s better for me to simply shift. I wrote Bellerophon in the vein of CS Lewis’s Till We Have Faces or Richard Purtill’s Golden Gryphon feather. Apparently, that sort of audience is much smaller than it once was.

      I love this book, and I’m still proud of it. But it wouldn’t be smart to try to make a career in this space.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Contact Cathleen Townsend

%d bloggers like this: