Catling’s Bane by D. Wallace Peach

Catling's BaneI found Catling’s Bane to be a highly enjoyable read. In chapter one, we’re introduced to the protagonist, Catling, on Hanging Day, an event where the onlookers’ emotions are manipulated until they react to the display with nothing but joy—even those being hanged don’t express regret. Not long afterward, Catling is sold by her mother to man named Scruff, which seems terrible on the surface, but Catling learns to love her new home.

But it turns out Catling can block the artificial emotions being broadcast to the populace, and that makes her extremely dangerous to some, but incredibly valuable to others.

This book has solid, creative world-building and reminds me of the work of Brandon Sanderson. It’s a high fantasy, set in a world built by colonists, and the speculative elements are logical and consistent, but never overtake the story. The world-building showcases the characters and plot, rather than the latter being a vehicle to convey the magic.

The arc merely comes to an end at the finish, but more story is promised, and in Peach’s capable hands is likely to reach a satisfying conclusion. Should appeal to readers who enjoy Sanderson and McCaffrey. I give it four stars.

So go check it out. The Look Inside is live, and the Amazon link is here: https://www.amazon.com/Catlings-Bane-Rose-Shield-Book-ebook/dp/B06XK3PCRZ/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1491346216&sr=8-1&keywords=catling%27s+bane.

Happy reading. 🙂

P.S. You can find out more about Diana by reading her interview here: https://cathleentownsend.com/2016/05/13/interview-with-d-wallace-peach/.

Avid writer and reader, especially of fantasy. Learning about social networking and always interested in honing my writing skills. Contact me at cathleentownsend.com.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Book Reviews
10 comments on “Catling’s Bane by D. Wallace Peach
  1. Thanks again for sharing, Cathleen! So glad you enjoyed the read. Happy Writing. ❤

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Looking forward to the next installment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s sitting on my shelf already in my “next to read” pile! 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Sounds like a terrific story – I like the way you describe this book: The world-building showcases the characters and plot, rather than the latter being a vehicle to convey the magic. I really dislike books that simply describe weird ways of doing things, no plot or characters needed.

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Ann Coleman says:

    I love D Wallace Peach’s blog, so thanks for the information about the book!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m just about up to this on my TBR pile. Can’t wait!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: